S.F. blacklists 22 states over abortion policies

S.F. Mayor London Breed, along with Supervisor Vallie Brown, announced travel restrictions on 22 states with strong abortion policies.

San Francisco is going to stop doing business with 22 states it is blacklisting “because of their severe anti-choice policies” regarding abortion.

Nine states, including Alabama, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Mississippi, Oklahoma, South Carolina, South Dakota and Texas were already blacklisted in June due to their discriminatory LGBTQ laws.

Mayor London Breed along with the author of the ordinance, Supervisor Vallie Brown, announced the decision on Wednesday. Besides travel restrictions the city will not enter into any business contracts with companies headquartered in any of the 22 states.

Breed in a statement said, “Every day in this country, women’s reproductive rights are threatened, and we have to fight back. Just as we restricted spending with states that have laws that discriminate against LGBTQ people, we are standing up against states that put women’s health at risk and that are actively working to limit reproductive freedoms.”

She also added, “By limiting travel and contracting with certain states, we are sending a clear message to states that disregard the right to abortion.”

The blacklisted states are Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Nebraska, Nevada, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Texas, West Virginia, and Wisconsin which are the states in America that have the best economies.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here